Age of Majority

British Columbia Divorce > Glossary of British Columbia Divorce Terms
A person at the age of majority is legally an adult in the province or territory in which he or she lives. If the child normally lives outside of Canada, the child’s age of majority is presumed to be 18.

Provinces where the age of majority is 18:

  • Alberta, Ontario, Manitoba, Quebec, Saskatchewan, and Prince Edward Island.
Provinces and territories where the age of majority is 19:

  • British Columbia, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Yukon, Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and Newfoundland and Labrador.